*** इस पृष्ठ को हिंदी में पढ़े ***‌

Courts in India

High Courts with jurisdiction in more than 1 state/UT

High CourtJurisdiction
GuwahatiArunachal Pradesh, Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram
BombayMaharashtra, Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu
CalcuttaWest Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
KeralaKerala, Lakshadweep
MadrasTamil Nadu, Puducherry
Punjab and HaryanaPunjab, Haryana, Chandigarh

High Courts and Benches

High CourtBench
Allahabad High CourtLucknow
Bombay High CourtNagpur, Panaji, Aurangabad
Calcutta High CourtPort Blair
Gauhati High CourtKohima, Aizwal, Itanagar
Madhya Pradesh High CourtGwalior, Indore
Madras High CourtMadurai
Rajasthan High CourtJaipur

High Courts not in State Capitals

High CourtLocation
Madhya PradeshJabalpur
Uttar PradeshAllahabad

Union Territories - High Courts

Union TerritoryHigh Court
Andaman and Nicobar islandsCalcutta High Court
LakshadweepKerala High Court
PuducherryMadras High Court
Dadra and Nagar HaveliBombay High Court
Daman and DiuBombay High Court
ChandigarhPunjab and Haryana High Court
DelhiDelhi High Court

Points to remember

The Supreme Court of India came into existence on 28 Jan 1950 replacing Federal Court of India which had functioned from 1937 to 1950.
The number of Judges in the Supreme Court is Chief Justice and 30 other judges.
A judge of the Supreme Court of India can hold office upto the maximum age of sixty-five years.
The total number of High courts in India is 24*.
*Three High Courts were inaugurated in March 2013 - Meghalaya and Manipur High Courts (March 25) and Tripura High Court (March 26) in their respective state capitals.
The oldest High Court in India is the Calcutta High Court which was set up on 01 Jul 1862. It is one of the three Chartered High Courts to be set up in India, along with the High Courts of Bombay, Madras.
The upper age limit for appointment as a judge of High court is sixty-two years.