Nuclear Power Stations

Nuclear Power StationLocationUnitsCapacity
1 TarapurMaharashtra41400 MWe
2 KalpakkamTamil Nadu2440 MWe
3 RawatbhataKota, Rajasthan61180 MWe
4 Narora Uttar Pradesh2440 MWe
5 KaigaKarnataka4880 MWe
6 KakraparGujarat2440 MWe
7 KudankulamTamil Nadu2*2000 MWe
Of the 7 Atomic Power Stations Tarapur is the oldest and the biggest. Only Tarapur has 2 Boiling Water Reactors, all others have Pressurised Heavy Water Reactors
*1 out 2 reactor has reached its milestone of 1000MWe of power generation in June 2014.
A new proposed 9900 MW nuclear power project is coming up at Jaitapur at Madban village of Ratnagiri district of Maharashtra. The power project will be the largest in the world in terms of net electrical power once completed. For details see Jaitapur Nuclear Power Project in GK Topics Environment section.

Heavy Water Plants in India

#Heavy Water PlantState
1.Heavy Water Plant, BarodaGujarat
2.Heavy Water Plant, HaziraGujarat
3.Heavy Water Plant, KotaRajashtan
4.Heavy Water Plant, ManuguruAndhra Pradesh
5.Heavy Water Plant, TalcherOdisha
6.Heavy Water Plant, ThalMaharashtra
7.Heavy Water Plant, TuticorinTamilnadu

Institutions under the Department of Atomic Energy

1.Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR)Mumbai
2.Tata Memorial Centre (TMC)Mumbai
3.Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics (SINP)Kolkata
4.Institute of Physics (IoP)Bhubaneswar
5.Institute of Mathematical Sciences (IMSc)Chennai
6.Harish Chandra Research Institute (HRI)Allahabad
7.Institute for Plasma Research (IPR)Gandhinagar
8.National Institute of Science, Education and Research (NISER)Bhubaneswar
9.Atomic Energy Education Society (AEES)Mumbai