First Sportspersons to be awarded Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award

*** इस पृष्ठ को हिंदी में पढ़े ***‌

Note: Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award was formerly known as Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and renamed in 2021

1.First person and first Chess player to be awardedViswanathan Anand1991-92
2.First Billiards player to be awardedGeet Sethi1992-93
3.First Yachting sportsperson to be awardedHomi Motivala and Pushpendra Kumar Garg1993-94
4.First Weightlifter and also first Woman to be awardedKarnam Malleswari1994-95
5.First Tennis player to be awardedLeander Paes1996-97
6.First Cricket player to be awardedSachin Tendulkar1997-98
7.First Athlete and also first Woman Athlete to be awardedJyotirmoyee Sikdar1998-99
8.First Hockey player to be awardedDhanraj Pillay1999-2000
9.First Badminton player to be awardedPullela Gopichand2000-01
10.First Shooting sportsperson to be awardedAbhinav Bindra2001
11.First Shooting sportswoman to be awardedAnjali Bhagwat2002
12.First Boxing sportsperson to be awardedMary Kom2009
13.First Wrestler to be awardedSushil Kumar2009
14.First Gymnast to be awardedDipa Karmakar2016
15.First Woman Wrestler to be awardedSakshi Malik2016
16.First Para-athlete to be awardedDevendra Jhajharia2017