Formation of States in India

*** इस पृष्ठ को हिंदी में पढ़े ***‌

Divided from other states

StateFormation YearStatus prior to formation
Andhra1953Part of the state of Madras
Gujarat1960Part of the state of Bombay
Maharashtra1960Part of the state of Bombay
Haryana1966Part of Punjab
Uttarakhand2000Part of Uttar Pradesh
Chhattisgarh2000Part of Madhya Pradesh
Jharkhand2000Part of Bihar
Telangana2014Part of Andhra Pradesh

UTs which became States

StateFormation YearStatus prior to formation
Nagaland1963Union territory
Himachal Pradesh1971Union Territory
Manipur, Tripura1972Union Territories
Arunachal Pradesh1987Union Territory
Goa1987Union Territory


StateFormation YearStatus prior to formation
Kerala1956State of Travancore and Cochin
Karnataka1956State of Mysore was formed in 1953, enlarged Mysore in 1956 which was renamed in 1973.
Meghalaya1972Autonomous state within state of Assam
Sikkim1975Associate state since 1974 and a protectorate of India before that.
Mizoram1987District of Assam till 1972 and Union Territory from 1972 to 1987.
NOTE: Goa, Puducherry, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Sikkim were not a part of India at the time of independence. Goa was liberated from Portuguese occupation in 1961, Puducherry alongwith Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam, was transferred to India in 1954 by the French, Dadra & Nagar Haveli were liberated in 1954 from the Portuguese and Sikkim became a part of India in 1974.

States and Formation Years

StateOptionFormation Year
1. Himachal Pradesh a. 2000
2. Sikkimb. 1966
3. Uttarakhandc. 1956
4. Haryanad. 1971
5. Keralae. 2014
6. Gujaratf. 1975
7. Telanganag. 1960